Trustees and governance

Avenues is made up of a group of subsidiary organisations, all of which are registered charities and companies limited by guarantee, with the exception of Welmede which is a mutual society, regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.

Each subsidiary has its own board of trustees. Trustees are non-executive directors who work on a voluntary basis to make sure we have a clear strategy, the right actions are being taken to deliver the strategy and legal and financial obligations are being met.

A group board oversees the strategic direction of the Avenues group. Membership of the group board is made up of non- executive directors, including the chairs of each subsidiary board, together with the Executive Management Team.  An Audit Sub-Committee, a Finance Sub-Committee, a Board Appointments Committee and a Remuneration Committee are also part of the governance structure.

View our annual reports and accounts.




Photograph of Terry Rich, Group Board Chair

Terry Rich, Group Board Chair

Terry has over 30 years’ experience in social care, starting as trainee social worker in 1975 through to serving as a director in three local authorities over 12 years, during which time he transformed social care services from failing to high performing status. Terry established his own consultancy in 2011. He was Chair of London’s Association of Directors for Social Services in 2011 and has served on numerous panels and working groups for the Department of Health.

Photograph of Bruce Calderwood

Bruce Calderwood

Bruce has held a number of senior policy roles, advising Ministers on strategies for older people, disability equality, mental health, adults with autism and people with challenging behaviour. He worked in the Department of Work and Pensions and its predecessor, the Department of Social Security, on housing, state benefits and disability. His final role from 2009-13 was Director of Mental Health, Disability and Equality in the Department of Health.

Photograph of Janet Coltman

Janet Coltman

Following the birth of her two children, Janet left the civil service to focus on family commitments and voluntary work. She has taught the Paget-Gorman signing system to parents and support staff at the Meath in Surrey and is a board member of the Surrey Learning Disability Partnership. Janet has also been a person-centred planning facilitator. Her son is supported by Welmede and as a trustee Janet has brought a carer’s perspective to staff training and development.

Photograph of Alistair Oag

Alistair Oag

Alistair worked for over 20 years for a global distributor of electronics in various roles including Finance Director, Managing Director and most recently in a global role as Strategy and Business Development Vice President. Alistair now works in a consultancy capacity and is also a non-executive director of IC24. He is also a member of our audit sub-committee.

Photograph of Evlynne Gilvarry

Evlynne Gilvarry

Evlynne has many years experience of working at senior level in large national organisations – most recently as Chief Executive of the General Dental Council, the UK regulator of Dentistry. Prior to that Evlynne was Chief Executive of the General Osteopathic Council, the UK regulator of osteopathy and before that she worked in senior roles for the Law Society, the professional body for solicitors in England and Wales.  Evlynne's career has given her a very detailed understanding of the private sector.

Avenues South East: non-executive members

  • Bruce Calderwood, Chair and group board member
  • Paul Newton
  • Alistair Oag

Avenues London: non-executive members

  • Evlynne Gilvarry, Chair and group board member
  • Graham Gregg
  • Georgia Jerram
  • Cathryn Law

Avenues East: non-executive members

  • Mark Pittaway, interim Chair
  • Martin Owen
  • Hunniya Waseem

Welmede: non-executive members

  • Lynne Holmes, Chair and group board member 
  • Richard Sanderson
  • Janet Coltman (also a group board member)
  • Graham Worsfold
  • Maureen Young
  • Peter Hepburn
  • Myles Kaplan